Fort Mill School District
2233 Deerfield Drive, Fort Mill, SC 29715
P: (803) 548-2527 | F: (803) 547-4696
Transportation: (803) 802-1998

FMSD Inducts New Members into Hall of Fame
FMSD Inducts New Members into Hall of Fame
Posted on 01/23/2019

The Fort Mill School District inducted three new members into the district’s Hall of Fame with a ceremony and reception on Tuesday, January 22. This year’s class of the Hall of Fame included Elliott Littleton Avery, Molly Coggins, and Joe Bonds. 

The Fort Mill School District Hall of Fame was established in 2016 to honor graduates of Fort Mill School District schools and other persons who have made significant contributions to the school district, their communities, their states and/or our nation.

For photos from the event, please click here. 

About the Inductees:

Elliott Littleton Avery came to Fort Mill to be the principal of Old Academy after serving as a lieutenant in World War I.  Professor Elliott L. Avery was the first principal of George Fish School from 1925 until his death in 1938. 

Professor Elliott L. Avery served as the principal of the Old Academy from 1921 until its closing in 1925 and continued as the principal at the newly constructed George Fish School for the black community. He and his family resided in the principal’s home adjacent to the school.

Professor Avery was active in the Paradise community as a member of Bethlehem Baptist Church and as a registered insurance agent. He was dedicated to his duties as both a teacher and principal at George Fish School until his death in 1938. In tribute to his leadership and community service, his remains were interred on the grounds of the school and later moved to a nearby cemetery. In the 1950’s, Avery Street in the Paradise community was named in his honor. 

Joe Bonds served as a teacher, coach, and principal in his professional career before coming to Fort Mill as Superintendent from 1980-1994. 

His time with the Fort Mill School District brought about many changes and new initiatives, including strategic planning, a facilities improvement plan, a systematic teacher evaluation program and differentiated professional learning opportunities for faculty. He was a leader in technology, with the automation of the media centers and the integration of instructional technology. He also was instrumental in the implementation of the Reading Recovery Program. 

He was named Superintendent of the Year by the South Carolina Association of School Administrators in 1993 and given the Lifetime Achievement Award by the South Carolina Association of School Administrators in 1994.

Dr. Molly Coggins worked in the Fort Mill School District for nearly 30 years. She began her career as a teacher at Fort Mill Elementary, where she also supervised student teachers from Winthrop University and Limestone College. 

In 1980, Dr. Coggins became the program coordinator for Learning Experiences and Parenting (the LEAP program) at Fort Mill Primary School, a program that provided support and enrichment for pre-school age students and their parents and prepared them for kindergarten.  She later became the director for the LEAP program before taking the position of curriculum coordinator for Fort Mill Primary.

In 1986, Dr. Coggins became the principal of Fort Mill Primary, a role she served in for the next fifteen years. 
During her career, Dr. Coggins was honored multiple times for her service to our schools. She was twice named the Fort Mill Times’ Principal of the Year, Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the Fort Mill School District, and was named one of the “Outstanding Women in South Carolina.”