Skip To Main Content

Logo Title

Logo Image

Logo Title

Honor Roll Teachers Announced

honor roll teachers

During the 2024 Teacher of the Year banquet held April 18 at the Founders Dairy Barn on the Anne Springs Close Greenway, the district announced the five District Honor Roll Teachers of the Year.

In alphabetical order they are:

Britney Brownshield, Special Education, Tega Cay Elementary: Ms. Brownshield received a Bachelor of Science in Special Education from Winthrop University. She has served as a department chair, member of the Ci3T leadership team, and a Titan Academy Leader. She currently serves as a mentor teacher, assisting new teachers with a variety of tasks including classroom setup, creating lessons, and gathering data.   

Heather Doheny, 4th Grade, Kings Town Elementary: Ms. Doheny graduated from University of Pittsburgh with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, University of Slippery Rock with a Master of Education, Reading Specialist, and has completed 18 hours of post graduate coursework.  She has served as a mentor for student teachers as well as MAT Interns. Ms. Doheny is National Board Certified.

Jocquin Fuller, Band Director, Fort Mill Middle: Mr. Fuller graduated from Winthrop University with a bachelor’s degree in Music Education and a master’s degree in Conducting. He serves as a mentor teacher for Winthrop University, the Fort Mill School District, and the NCMEA. Mr. Fuller is the chairman for the SC Band Director’s Association’s concert festival. He is National Board Certified.

Kelley Sessions, Kindergarten, Pleasant Knoll Elementary: Ms. Sessions earned her Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood and a master’s degree in Early Childhood Special Education from the University of South Carolina. She serves as a peer evaluator, a mentor for induction teachers, and works as a Teacher Cadet cooperating teacher. Ms. Sessions is National Board Certified.

Maj. Shawn Studley, JROTC Instructor, Catawba Ridge High: Maj. Studley is a Marine Corps Veteran. He served for 24 years, including during Operation Desert Storm, and was awarded Staff Non-Commissioned Officer in Charge of the Year in 1996. He has a bachelor’s degree in History from the University of South Carolina. Maj. Studley established the JROTC unit at Catawba Ridge High School in 2019. The unit has twice been named the top NJROTC unit in the Carolinas and was recognized as the 3rd best NJROTC unit in the country in 2022.

These five Honor Roll Teachers will now be in consideration for the District Teacher of the Year which will be selected at the start of the 2024–2025 school year.